5/5
Adults
Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.  After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy. After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret. RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.
more
First Published
2020
Pages
384
Language
English
ISBN
0062959921
DIVERSITY RATING
7/100

your modern libray tags

. . . . . . . . . . . .

your modern library rating

overall rating

9/10
black, indigenous, and other people of color
0%
inclusion
0%
character values
0%
critical thinking
0%
(positive) parenting
0%
red flags (for kids)
0%

YML analysis

reviewed by:
Eliz

Haven’t really seen or read many books where both the love interests are of Latinx/e descent. I felt like the Latine cultures were accurately represented and could feel myself connecting to the culture and character development.

reviews
{{ reviewsTotal }}{{ options.labels.singularReviewCountLabel }}
{{ reviewsTotal }}{{ options.labels.pluralReviewCountLabel }}
{{ options.labels.newReviewButton }}
{{ userData.canReview.message }}

additional product information

Book brought to you by:
  • New York Times Editor’s Choice/Staff Pick
  • Kirkus Best Books of 2020
  • Amazon Best Romances of 2020
  • Oprah Magazine Best Romances of 2020
  • Buzzfeed Best Romances of 2020
  • Bustle Best Romances of 2020
  • Kobo Best Romances of 2020
  • Fated Mates Best of 2020
  • Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist 2020
  • Good Sex Award for Best Sexy Talk
  • Ripped Bodice Award Winner for Excellence in Romantic Fiction 2020
  • Target Diverse Book Club Pick for August 2020
  • Amazon Best Books of the Month for August 2020
  • Indie Next Great Reads List for August 2020
  • Library Reads Top Pick for August 2020
  • Audible Editor’s Pick
Contact Us
Afghanistan
Follow Us

about the author(s)

Romance Author

Alexis Daria is an award-winning and bestselling romance author. Her debut novel, Take the Lead, was a RITA Award winner for Best First Book, and You Had Me at Hola, the first book in her Primas of Power series, is an international bestseller. Alexis’s books have been featured on several “Best of” lists from outlets like Oprah MagazineEntertainment WeeklyNPRBuzzfeed, and the Washington Post, and have received starred reviews from trade publications like Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, and Library Journal. A former visual artist, Alexis is a lifelong New Yorker who loves Broadway musicals and pizza.

website:

additional resources:

media we think you'll love

similar items

featured collections

girl power

Coco
Coco
42
42
Remember the Titans
Remember the Titans

black and beautiful

Dead Presidents
Dead Presidents
And Still I Rise
And Still I Rise
Cars and Trucks and Things That Go
Cars and Trucks and Things That Go